RSS Feed

Come On Get Active – Week 1

 

The Universe can be a fickle little bitch sometimes.

Last week I proclaimed to the world I was on a mission to get active and lose weight! I planted my flag and claimed this journey for Queen Isabella and set off to make great strides.

The Universe, however, had other plans for me.

While was writing the blog post I failed to mention I had hurt my back that week and needed my husband’s help each morning to get my shoes and socks on. Going to the gym after work was impossible because while I could take my shoes off, I could not get my exercise shoes ON. And yesterday I woke up with a scratchy throat and a cold that is thinking about taking up residence in my head or chest.

Exercising vigorously was out of the question so instead I focused on what I ate, why I ate it and just moving more. I took walks during my lunch hour instead of sitting at my desk and made a conscious effort to be more active over the weekend rather than planting myself on a chair or the couch.

I doubt I lost any weight last week, but developing healthier habits and sticking to them is more important right now and I’m happy with my week. I made better food choices and enjoyed the autumn weather while it’s still nice. I took walks with my husband around our neighborhood and spent an hour this morning walking around Vancouver Lake enjoying the sights, sounds and smells.  And that’s all that counts.

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

2 responses »

  1. Good job! Nice attitude. Keep up the good work!!!!

    Reply
  2. Woot! YAY, YOU!!! Great job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

