RSS Feed

Midnight Conversations

At some point during my internet travels I wrote down the phrase taking action on a midnight conversation with yourself in my journal to reflect on save for later. I don’t know who wrote it or where I found it so I can’t give that person credit but the phrase recently made appearance in my life again when I was paging through my journal reading old entries. I thought about all those nights when the gerbil in my head is running at full speed reviewing unfinished projects, work demands and whatever else I didn’t accomplish that week. When the gerbil wakes me up with her mantra, I vow to take action to be a better person, grow 4 inches and lose weight immediately. Then I go back to sleep and hit snooze until the next night when the gerbil jumps back onto the wheel and begins her workout again.

Lather, rinse, repeat. It’s easy to make Grand Plans in the middle of the night to get yourself back to sleep or during quiet times of reflection but why is it so hard to follow through? Inertia? Comfort? Laziness?

The answer came to me in the form of my friend Pam’s online talk show. As many of you know, I have been working as the Content Editor for A Closer Look Radio for many years. My blog started as a way to provide content for the show and get people interested in the guests and interviews. It has since evolved into a forum for me to sort out my creative and professional life and get the gerbil in my brain to slow down for a few hours. Last week Pam interviewed Jen Sincero the author of You Are a Badass: How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life and the conversation struck a chord with me. They talked about how we “learn” our fears and how to un-learn them and focus on the words and stories we tell ourselves. I mean, we can only tell ourselves we are losers for so long until we start believing it. Jen also recommended writing letters to things like money and food as if they were a real person telling them how we really feel. It’s an interesting exercise and I certainly learned a thing or two.

Go take a listen to the conversation and let me know how it can help YOU can take action with those midnight (or in my case 3 a.m.) conversations with yourself and how you can invoke your inner badass. I’ll be here having a conversation with my inner gerbil telling her to slow down and enjoy the process.

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

