RSS Feed

We know what we are, but not what we may be

I have been sitting at my computer for 20 minutes trying to think deep thoughts ™ and write my weekly blog post but nothing was coming to me. I rolled around the usual ideas: trying, failing, journey through life. Nope. Already did it. I mined the inner-depths of my brain for a creative post idea and all I got was bread pudding. I can’t be too hard on myself; I did spend most of the afternoon helping teach a workshop so my brain looked a lot like bread pudding.

So, I did what most creative people do when they are stuck and checked in on all 190 of my Facebook friends. It was the usual Sunday night miscellany filled in “inspirational” posts from bizarre pages and vague comments about not wanting to work tomorrow. I did see a new journal entry post from Neil Gaiman so I clicked on it to see just how fabulous his life is as I sipped my $10 wine. In his blog post, Neil had the latest installment of his Blackberry Keep Moving Project. The video was stunning as usual and you can watch it below, but one quote from the video stood out: There comes a moment in all art when you have to leave things behind and go on to the next thing. But you do it really happy because whatever you leave behind you has taken on a life of its own.

When I worked in radio, we were trained to write at a level we considered a happy medium. Tight deadlines made it difficult to create true masterpieces and there was no room to be a perfectionist. At some point we just had to let it go. Besides, unless it was a barn-burner, using up anything more than three brain cells on a city council meaning wasn’t worth it. But we did eventually let it go, and it took on a life of itself. I occasionally go back and read old blog posts or stories I wrote and realize just how good they are. At the time I thought they were OK but a little time and space changes my mind.

This week, Gentle Reader, I would like YOU to think about the projects you have stored on your hard drive, stuffed in your closet or just collecting dust and let them go. Show them to world and see what kind of life they on. Come back and tell me your success, or not so success stories and we’ll talk.

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

