RSS Feed

Never fear quarrels, but seek hazardous adventures

When I was young, my mom used to have a phrase that would secretly drive me into a blind rage. It was usually delivered at moments when the world wasn’t spinning the way I wanted or I was forced to do something I wasn’t interested in doing. Think of it as an adventure she would quip when I was fuming over having to get out of my comfort zone or “try something new.” Think of it was an adventure was NOT what I wanted to hear at the time and I’m sure I would have kicked a small child or puppy if I was that type of person. But I’m not.

So, I found it interesting last week when Rob Brezsny posted my horoscope for the week on his Free Will Astrology website that read:

Here’s a passage from Charles Dickens’ novel Great Expectations: “It was one of those March days when the sun shines hot and the wind blows cold: when it is summer in the light, and winter in the shade.” Judging from the astrological omens, Virgo, I suspect your life may be like that in the coming days. The emotional tone could be sharply mixed, with high contrasts between vivid sensations.

The nature of your opportunities may seem warm and bright one moment, cool and dark the next. If you regard this as interesting rather than difficult, it won’t be a problem, but rather an adventure.

There are weeks I swear Mr. Brezsny follows me around and takes notes because this horoscope was “spot on” as my British friends say. Things have been interesting in my life and I could react by kicking the wall or yelling at the Universe but I have instead chosen to look at it as an adventure. I have been trying to open myself up to opportunities and sometimes it clicks and other times the Universe just shrugs its shoulders.

I try and learn from each successful and failed opportunity and think about what I did that worked and what didn’t work and how I can improve. After a recent disaster at the hair salon I wrote about a few weeks ago, I sat down and wrote an “after action review” as they say in the military about what could have gone better. Certain patterns emerged and I realized I can’t just flip a switch and make some flyers and hope people show up. I could have beat myself up over it, but instead, I just saw it as “an adventure”.

I’m sure my mom would be proud.

What about you? How do you change your challenges into an adventure?

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

One response »

  1. She is!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

