RSS Feed

We know what we are, but not what we may be

Once upon a time, when we were all much younger and wearing very small shoes, we were the masters of three important things:

1. How old we were up to the exact date

2. How tall we were up to the exact half inch

3. What we wanted for our birthday or Christmas. Included with that list were footnotes and explanations of said gift ideas.

Nowadays, when people ask me what I want for my birthday my mind goes blank and all I can think of is dishtowels and bed sheets. I do know how tall I am, however, after I turned 35 I stopped caring about age. The “what do you want” conversation came up again this week when I got together with a graphic designer who has been helping me update my website. We were discussing the header and banner for the site and Malee asked me if I had any font ideas. I stared at her blankly and gave her some lame ideas which were dismissed with the shake of her head. I really had no idea. Like any smart designer Malee saved me from babbling incoherent statements about dishtowels and sheets and encouraged me to come up with a list of 10 characteristics I wanted to communicate about me and my business. If there were any traditional light bulbs hanging above my head, I’m sure they would have exploded with happiness.

As I Virgo, I enjoy making lists but I really had to think about what I wanted to convey. Was it all about me, me, me? Or my clients? Or my professional qualities? What am I really all about anyway? I sat down at my computer and started hammering out a list. I started with personal characteristics and then threw in a few professional ones. I took out my thesaurus and changed words and shuffled words around and deleted and added. I thinned out and expanded the list until I came up with something suitable. Here it is:

  1. Outgoing
  2. Efficient
  3. Polished
  4. Obtainable
  5. Clever
  6. Accomplished
  7. Worldly
  8. Spirited
  9. Well-rounded
  10. Savvy

What do you think? Is it fitting for me? Now think about the same list and apply it to your own creative endeavors. If someone asked you to give ten characteristics describing your business adventures could you do it?

It’s not easy but once you do come up with a list it will help you focus your ideas and goals as you brand your message. Try this exercise and let me know what you come up with. I’ll share answers if I get enough responses.

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

One response »

  1. I was just doing a journal entry on this same type of topic this morning – like minds! ha
    In my Reiki practise I want people to know I’m:
    Compassionate, trustworthy, experienced, non-judgemental, creative, spiritual, dedicated, giving, open, happy…………….. and not in any particular order.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

