RSS Feed

Death By Misadventure

jump

In an attempt to avoid doing any meaningful work during this holiday week, I happened to click on a celebrity gossip site that reports on hard-hitting topics like what Britney Spears wore on a trip to Starbucks or whether Lindsey Lohan is residing at home or in jail this week. As I was scanning through the important celebrity news, I happened upon an article about Amy Winehouse. Apparently officials in London are re-opening the investigation into her death. The article itself really didn’t interest me but the cause of death listed on her death certificate did: Death by Misadventure. Phrases like this get the gears in my head spinning and I actually wrote it down in my journal.

What exactly is death by misadventure? A wrong turn down a dangerous alley? Getting mauled by a giraffe on an African safari? Not staying on the cleared path and stepping on a landmine? While I’m sure there are many people in this world that have been mauled by giraffes, the phrase got me thinking: What does it mean to go on a misadventure and what do we have to do get there? Take a wrong turn? Not read the map? Or just jump into the deep end of the pool? Does it all have to be bad? Can we go on a good misadventure? I do it all the time when I make a wrong turn and find a new, unexplored part of town.

Two weeks ago on A Closer Look Radio, Pam interviewed Dennis Perkins, noted author and leadership consultant. Dennis participated in the Sydney to Hobart race in 1998 and learned some very important and deadly lessons. One of the things he said that really stuck with me is how we can decide to learn from our failures and how long we’re going to take before we get up again. He also talked about why we SHOULD sail into a storm and go on a misadventure or two. You can listen to the interview by clicking here.

As long-time readers know, my husband is working on his Project Management degree. As part of risk management, a successful manager has to view problems which arise as learning experience for the future and as a potential opportunity. While having the rug pulled out from underneath me when the company I worked for got sold could be seen as a misadventure, it did enable me to focus on projects that added more meaning to my life. The old adage about lemons and lemonade may be hard to swallow when you are deep in a misadventure but sometimes a problem is only a problem if you view it as such. Things are what we make it. Work to make everything in your life as something you can spin to your adventure and every misadventure can be an adventure of self-discovery.

As 2012 closes out and many of us look forward to 2013, I would encourage YOU, gentle reader, to go on your own misadventure and see where the path takes you. What do you consider to be a misadventure? Have you had any run-ins with stampeding giraffes?

Write about it, blog about it, draw me a pictures! Share your misadventures with the world and come back and tell me about it!

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

