RSS Feed

Knowing When to Jump

This morning I joined millions of people around the world and watched “daredevil” Felix Baumgartner prepare to break the sound barrier and jump from a capsule 24 miles above the earth. When I first heard about his jump I thought he was just some hack trying to prove himself but after I read about the science and preparation involved in the jump, I sat at my computer for 2.5 hours watching him being carried into space as he prepared to jump.

During the final countdown and preparation, I began to wonder what was running through Felix’s head. He had to be prompted a few times by Mission Control to respond to their commands but his actions were fluid and controlled. I had read that he had serious panic attacks a few years ago and had to work through those, but this was THE moment. Millions of people were watching. He didn’t wait very long as he stood on the platform and Mission Control told him the angels were with him. I yelled for my husband and we both watched him jump, spin, deploy the parachute and safely land. I thought of his mother and the terror and joy she must have felt during the jump and how happy he was when he landed.

I am at a point in my life where I have to decide whether to take the capsule into space and jump. The Universe has provided me with opportunities, and like a good Virgo, I’m dissecting them into pieces and examining each molecule instead of just saying thank you and going for it. I am not one that gets inspired by extreme athletes or sports but Felix’s jump was a big sign from the universe telling me to stop dawdling and just… go for it.

Obviously Felix put a lot of work and thousands of jumps into this event but for me it’s not really about taking the jump, but rather committing to it that is hard. It’s a LOT of work full of setbacks and frustrations but so worth it in the end. I’ve raced in 3 triathlons and after each one I learned something new about myself and what I’m capable of doing. While the races themselves were not easy, the training both mentally and physically was hardest part.

As humans we often get excited about the jump but lose speed when were realize it takes training and practice and WORK. I have a picture of Felix’s jump on my bulletin board to remind me I can’t stand on the platform forever and it’s time to take steps to get there.

What about you? What’s on your project list that is collecting dust and needs to be launched? What motivates you to dust off your list and get working on it? Share your stories! I want to hear from YOU not the spam bots trying to sell me purses and SEO websites.

 

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

One response »

  1. My knowing when to jump usually starts with “Face your fears”…whether it’s climbing a ladder up to the steep side of the roof or inviting a new friend over for coffee or launching my Reiki practice…the thing that stops me is the thought of getting physically hurt, getting embarrassed or being rejected. Once I can say work through the “what’s the worst thing that can happen” and then say SO WHAT, it’s easier to get started with the plan and the work that gets me to the results I’m hoping to achieve. So go ahead and jump froggy! You can do it!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

