RSS Feed

A Toast and Boast on New Year’s Day

 

It is New Year’s Day, and unlike most people, I did not drink too much or stay up too late last night. I did wake up long enough to hear our neighbors blow off fireworks at midnight and go back to sleep.

As the rest of the world wakes up and wishes everyone a happy new year, I’ve noticed a renewed sense of hope on the blogs and Facebook feeds for 2012 that we haven’t seen in a long time. There’s an underlying feeling of promise that 2012 will in fact be better than the last decade and there is something to look forward to.

It’s always easy to dwell on the crappy things that happened in the past year, but in this week’s blog post, I am going to do something I don’t do very often: make it about me. If you’ve listened to A Prairie Home Companion more than once, you’ll know that Mid-westerners, especially Minnesotans don’t like drawing attention to themselves or bragging about what they’ve done. It’s easy for us to deflect compliments as if saving a building full of orphans from their fiery was death was nothing special. But in the fine tradition of a Norse Symbel Ceremony, I’m going to boast about my year and what I’ve accomplished and what I hope to accomplish in the next year:

  • In the past year, I trained harder than I have ever trained before thanks to my trainer Ken and raced in my 3rd triathlon. I shaved off 10 minutes from my last time and was quite pleased with my performance. The experience was great but toward the end of the race I decided I wanted to do something else.
  • Over the summer, I and three other creative friends started a monthly tradition of getting together at a coffee shop with the purpose of encouraging each-other’s creative endeavors, giving advice, and just having a place to be creative and solve many of the world’s problems. Thank you WBTASS!!! (don’t ask)
  • I got out of my comfort zone more times than I could count by going to writers groups and reading stuff I wrote in front of strangers, approaching the owner of a local wine bar and talking her into letting me write her newsletters, and finding inspiration through the PDX writers group.
  • I started writing articles for pay and thoroughly enjoyed the process. I have written on everything from sweating, to Annapolis, MD to writing content for a websites selling questionable products. I learned how to trust my writing more and enjoy the process.
  • My Grandma Kloss died in February and I went back to MN for the funeral. I connected with a long lost cousin and generally had a really nice time hanging with my relatives, laughing and eating. In March, my dad came to visit and we installed new Pergo flooring in our living room. All by ourselves. I felt so accomplished. Last year, I learned the true value of family and it felt really, really good.
  • I’ve sorted out my brain on this blog and in my own journal and learned a few things along the way – including how to be nicer to myself.

That’s just a few things I’ve accomplished in 2011. In 2012, I just simply want to function better. I wrote about it a couple of weeks ago and I mean it. Eat better, stop letting my blood sugar get so low, exercise every day even if it’s only 30 minutes and most importantly, stop beating myself for being human. I also plan to ask for help more often.. but I can’t do everything at once now can I?

Here’s to 2012 and thriving in whole new ways!

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

One response »

  1. congrats on your accomplishments – and they were awesome!!
    Your goals for 2012 are attainable –
    you are so cool!!! : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

