RSS Feed

We’ll take a cup of kindness yet, for auld lang syne

Last week my trainer Ken wrote to me and asked how my workouts were going. He does this periodically to check in on and see how I’m progressing. After a couple of frustrating weeks, I finally bit the bullet and told him I wasn’t sure how I was doing and thought it might be easier to just hit the Do Over Button.

Like a good trainer, Ken gave me a good pep talk and told me not to get discouraged because I’m not progressing as I would like and to remember that we all have bad weeks (sometimes 2 or 3) and to get past it. He also told me me it was probably time for me to re-evaluate my fitness goals and to think about what I truly wanted, to dream big, and to get back to him after a week of thinking. He ended his e-mail by telling me that while I was thinking about these goals, to get off my butt and do the exercises he sent. I laughed and smiled because he did have a point.

As I mulled over my exercise goals over the week, I thought about how this relates to creative goals or any sort of life benchmarks we set for ourselves. What do we do when the path isn’t going where want it to go? What do we do when we get stuck in the mud? Are afraid to reach out for help or just take that deep breath and leap? For many of us, myself included, we continue to spin in the mud or dig that hole a little deeper until it is just too much to deal with and get distracted by something new and shiny.

Now that 2012 is lurking in the cornfields ready to attack, it’s time to pull out that list you made last year on New Year’s Eve of all those grand plans and sweeping changes you were going to make in 2011. I pulled out my journal and read my entry on December 26th. I made notes about finding abundance, taking more joy in writing and creating a balance in my mental and spiritual state. For the most part, I think I did well. There were a few things I really wanted to accomplish but didn’t because of (insert random excuse here). Going back to what Ken the Trainer said, the main reason I didn’t accomplish these things was because I hit a roadblock, wasn’t sure how to proceed or just got distracted by a new, shiny object. Instead of re-grouping and re-examining those goals, I just moved on to something else leaving behind a pile of half-finished dreams.

The idea of a new year gives us the opportunity to reflect on what we want and also wipe the slate clean, think about all the things we can do creatively, spiritually or physically. What is keeping you from accomplishing these tasks and how can you take Ken the Trainer’s advice and get off your butt and just do it?

I can’t just pontificate on goals setting without listing my own plans for 2012. After careful consideration, I determined that I simply want to function better. That means exercising so my hormones and emotions stay in check and also meet my weight goals, meditating each day even if it’s just 5 minutes on the train, and getting out of my comfort zone and really going for what I want.

Drop me a line and let me know how you plan to function better in 2012. Let’s start a conversation about how to work toward these goals. I want to block out all the spammers in the comments section that want to sell me little blue pills with a healthy discussion.

In the next few months I plan on expanding on this topic and doing a series of articles and interviews with people smarter than me. I may even see if I can get Ken the Trainer to sit still for 5 minutes and answer questions about how set realistic exercise goals.

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

