RSS Feed

Fragments and Shrapnel: Obstructions and Radiance

Joseph Campbell once said, “What is the obstruction in your life and how can you transform it into radiance?”

For me the obstructions are time management, direction, and how to proceed which prevent me from obtaining radiance.. that and a good moisturizer. But all kidding aside, think about all the roadblocks you put in front of yourself to prevent you from working toward your goals. Do you self-sabotage? Not go beyond your comfort zone? Not ask for help?

Last week on A Closer Look Radio, Pam interviewed entrepreneur and author Adelaide Lancaster whose book The Big Enough Company, is a guide anyone can use to achieve radiance in their businesses or every day life. Pam and Adelaide discussed the important conversations you need to have BEFORE starting a business and how to really focus on what you want to get out of running a business instead of letting it run you. Everyone wants to be their own boss but not everyone knows how.

During the interview Adelaide broke her message down into a simple recipe anyone can follow:

1. Why do you want to work for yourself and how you can you build it into your experience? What is non-negotiable for you? What do you have to get now? What can wait?

2. Create the impact you desire – what is the purpose behind the business?

3. Give yourself a job you enjoy

4. Attain the outcome you envision – what does success mean to you and what are you aiming for?

Adelaide stressed the importance of branching out and talking to people who are NOT in your industry. You may be a good writer but do you know to make a business plan or market yourself? I really never thought about talking to non-writers about the creative process. But getting an outside perspective is important so I don’t burn out or make dumb decisions. What do you do to get that perspective? How could your projects benefit from another pair of eyes?

As usual, Pam’s timing was perfect becuase I have been asking myself the same questions and so have many of my friends who are seeking new paths. We have a goal and a dream but we’re not quite sure how to mold it into something enjoyable and profitable.

If you don’t listen to A Closer Look Radio, you really should. It’s like going to a mini-business school without the inflated tuition. I have learned so much listening to this show and serving as the Content Editor. It has helped me stay motivated and given me a map and compass to help me reach my goals. You can download the show’s app for your iPhone or Android or just add it to your list of podcasts in Itunes. Pam’s excellent interview skills and fascinating guests will have you coming back for more and sharing the advice with your friends. I know I sound like an advertisement for the show but I wouldn’t tell you something was this good if it wasn’t. Just go listen… you’ll find radiance in no time.

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

