RSS Feed

Fragments and Silly String

Many of you know that my aunt Tricia has made a living clowning for at least 600 years. Well, maybe not that long, but I’m guessing it’s been at least 20 years. I get her newsletter every month not because I want to be a clown, but because she offers good advice and helpful tips on meeting your goals and acting on your dreams. This month she offered up some sage advice from the fabulous French novelist, Sidonie-Gabrielle Colette, You will do foolish things, but do them with enthusiasm.

I read this and thought about all the times I didn’t do something because it was crazy, scary or just plain silly. Today on the way home I walked by the Salmon Street Fountain in downtown Portland and stopped and watched the little kids play and shriek in the fountain. They looked so happy and carefree and I was just a little jealous. When the leaves fall, I take advantage of the fresh piles and run through them but only when no one is looking.

I can be a very look before I leap type of person when an exciting or new thing presents itself to me. Lately, however, I have been focusing so much on writing and Getting Things Done that I haven’t made any time to play. As the quote knocked around my head like a pinball, I started on a little collage of all the inspirational places I’ve been. I cut out pictures from New York City like the Hotel Chelsea, CBGBs and a fabulous deli called Zabar’s. I pasted a picture of a statue I took in Munich and an image from an opera house in Paris. I may not be able to go there any time soon, but having the view is very inspiring. It makes me want to jump and do foolish things and not care if people are watching.

Like my aunt, and many in my family for that matter, it’s time for me to do foolish things enthusiastically. All those adventures I’ve been meaning to go on this summer need to be done before the rain comes back and I wonder where summer went. I will run through a sprinkler and walk through a water fall, and who knows, sit down and write a silly story.

What about you?

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

One response »

  1. just don’t try to do a cartwheel with gusto when you’re 56…it’s not worth the pain! Wah : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

