RSS Feed

F&S: New and exciting!

Last week while I was out of commission with The Plague, I made a few discoveries that need to be shared.

Slate.Com posted a revolutionary article which rocked the publishing and printing world. Well, not really, but it did claim those two spaces we’re all accustomed to making after a period are no longer necessary! Horrors! Taking typing classes in the 80’s I learned to hit the space bar twice, but I never was never defiant like some “two spacers” the author points out. The article did make me stop and wonder when this new rule happened and why I slept through it. About a year ago I took a freelance writing class and the instructor told us to take out the extra spaces before we submitted a manuscript or story because it was unprofessional. When I write my great American novel, I promise not to put two spaces after any periods. I want to be taken seriously, after all.

In other publishing news, a small publisher’s recent decision to remove the “n” word from Mark Twain’s Huckleberry Finn has causing quite a stir. Much ink has been spilled in response to this issue but this article in The Atlantic from one of my favorite authors, Michael Chabon was especially thought-provoking and honest.

Moving on to music…whenever I write or work on projects I stream KCRW’s Eclectic24 on my computer as inspiration. I usually end up spending too much money on iTunes by the time I’m done because they play such interesting and eclectic music. I’ve discovered many “new bands”while listening to KCRW and one of those is called The Civil Wars. This stripped down duo who cites their influences as everyone from Bach to the Beach Boys to Johnny Cash to The Romantics is made up of Joy Williams and John Paul White and considered Paste Magazine’s “The Best of What’s New”. They are perfect for driving long distances or sitting down in front of a fire with a glass of wine while you write your memoirs. I first heard them sing a cover of Leonard Cohen’s Dance With Me To The End of Love followed by their equally haunting song Poison & Wine. Check out their video for Poison & Wine here:

Download their live album Live At Eddie’s Attic for free either from John’s website or from their MySpace Page.

And last, but certainly not least, as the Content Editor for A Closer Look Radio, I must mention that next week’s shows are going to be chock full of useful information to make your life and business run better. On Tuesday’s show, Life and Other Matters, Pam and Co. continue discussing their goals for 2011 and give tips on what to put in your closet and on the internet. Then on Thursday Pam will chat with business consultant Robert Tucker about how innovation and ideas can give your business the competitive edge. It should be a great week full of timely information so make sure to tune in or check out the podcasts.

That’s it for me this week. The Plague has almost left and I should be back up to 100% next week.

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

