RSS Feed

Nourishing Dreams: Soul Feeding 2011

And surely you’ll buy your pint cup !
and surely I’ll buy mine !
And we’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet,
for auld lang syne.

As the power chords of Auld Lang Syne wait for us to ring in the New Year, it is time to turn our attention to our accomplishments and what we resolve for the future. It’s a clean slate! We can do anything! We can transform ourselves from the boring Sandy Olsson who wears poodle skirts and sweater sets into the racy Sandy Olsson who perms her hair, wears cat suits, and drives off into the sunset with John Travolta!

By March it is clear our genes are not programmed to fit into cat suits, permed hair is sooooo 1980’s, and neither John Travolta on our arm nor taking up smoking cigarettes will improve our social standing. I used to make lofty resolutions vowing THIS would be the year the new and improved Sandy in a Cat Suit would emerge and I would get my act together… and who knows! Run for Congress!! But it never works. For next year, however, I have decided to approach my goals from a more holistic point of view.

How? Let me explain: Last year was all about reinvention. I worked hard to turn myself into a freelance writer, workshop promoter and all-around creative person. I networked, I traveled and I experienced. I’m not complaining; it was a fabulous year, but my body would occasionally revolt from my fast pace and make me take a day-long nap. I’m not quite there yet but I’m on the right path. So when I sat down to consider my goals for next year, I realized that while I was doing a good job reinventing myself, my soul wasn’t getting its proper care and feeding.

While I was unemployed I sought out new and exciting experiences like volunteering and attending art shows. I took lots of pictures documenting my travels and posted them on my Live Journal page and sent them to my grandma. Well, now that I’m employed again, the camera hasn’t been out of my purse much and my focus now has been getting home to write rather than stopping at the museum for free night. Throughout the year I fed bad habits, ignored my favorite hiking places and forgot about my passions.

Next year will be about finding a balance between the two. I plan to continue on my path of reinvention but fix a couple of things along the way. Each week or maybe each month, I’ll decide what my focus should be and document my progress in my shiny new Moleskin journal. I might even write about it here.

Reinvention should not be about ignoring what’s important but more like finding what’s important and taking it along your journey.

What about you? What’s on your list? Do you want to be Sandy in a Cat Suit next year or do you want to stay wholesome and pure? Tell me your thoughts and report back often!

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

