RSS Feed

Marketing for Fun and Profit

As the content editor of A Closer Look Radio, it is my duty to bring the listeners (and readers of my website) exciting content and topical information pertaining to the guests on the show. Each week, Pam interviews business leaders, marketing experts and authors who give timely and pertinent advice for small business owners who want to stick out from the Main Street crowd.

In the spirit of the holiday season, I am providing you, Gentle Readers, with FREE content to help you grow your business and make millions. You can thank me later.

For my entrepreneurial readers, the geniuses at Woot.Com have this video offering sound financial advice on how to make money in Seattle. You can choose between opening your own hockey pro shop, running a Jewish deli or designing and selling The Utilitutu! As the daughter of parents who owned and operated a hockey school, the pro shop is mine!! Don’t even take my idea or I’ll cross check you into the boards!

For those of you who would prefer investing your money in real estate, I just learned the Corleone mansion is up for sale! For a mere $2.9 million you can charge your neighbors admission as you reenact scenes from The Godfather, feast on cannoli and die peacefully in your garden. It’s an offer you can’t refuse.

If one-hit-wonders and products made in China are more of your cup of financial tea, Mental Floss has this article on the Greatest Moments in Infomercial History. Your inventions can join the late-night ranks of the Ginsu Knife and Sham Wow!

Marketing experts will tell you that branding is a very important tool to have in your Utilitutu. If you live in the suburbs like I do, this music video about the importance of the Shop Vac will inspire you to brand your product in ways you didn’t even know existed.

As an addendum to the above video, my husband Ian, who if pressed might be able to name all 44 presidents, felt bad that he recognized the Acura “font” in the video. That’s branding!

Now that I have given you the tools to start your own business (but not a hockey pro shop in Seattle) go out and set the world on fire. Make millions! Share your millions with me! Remember who gave you the ideas!

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

