RSS Feed

Fragments and Shrapel if you set your mind to it

Last week at work a co-worker of mine was pulling out his hair and fretting over whether he was going to get a fabulous new apartment in Portland’s Pearl District. He convinced himself that if he wasn’t approved it would be OK and he’d just move on to the next fabulous apartment. But we all knew it wouldn’t be OK.  Towards the end of the week I overheard him chatting with a co-worker and he jokingly said, “I’m just using the power of The Secret to get this apartment!”

For those of you who have not read The Secret, it is a wildly popular book released in 2006 that will help you change your relationships, money, health, happiness, career, and your entire life. I haven’t read it but my parents swear by it and so do many others.

I chimed in to the conversation and said, “I’m using the power of the Secret to be 5’8” tall (I’m 5’4”) and weigh 120 pounds (don’t ask).”  Another co-worker spoke up from behind her cuble and said she just wanted her damn computer to work.

While  were all being facetious, it got me thinking about the power of the mind. Can we really achieve whatever we want if we set our minds to it? What if we, like Sheryl Crow, have to work our asses off for 10 years before we become overnight successes?

Malcolm Gladwell seems to think it takes a bit more than just “thinking positive” to be successful. In his newest book Outliers,  Gladwell examines the key factors (Have wealthy parents who can send you to good schools and be born in January) that contribute to the high levels of success achieved by people like Bill Gates or Robert Oppenheimer. He also examines the 10-Thousand Hour Rule which claims the key to success in any field is a matter of practicing a specific task for 10,000 hours.  I’m all about being a master of your domain but 10,000 hours? Yikes.

Obviously I don’t plan on starting a software company or inventing nuclear weapons but I am in the process of reinventing myself. I have been using the power of “Fake it till ya make it” as a way to visualize my creative goals and convince people that they want to read what I write, take my workshops and listen to what I have to say.  No one batted an eye when I told my writing group that I was a freelance writer. I have the business cards to prove it!  I plan to keep on telling people this until I’m invited to cocktail parties to discuss my new book.

This week on A Closer Look Health and Lifestyle Edition, Pam is interviewing hypnotherapist Betti Hoeppner. Betti is a Master Practitioner in NeuroLinguist Programming and will discuss how the power of the mind can help us quit smoking, lose weight, deal with pain and even help us sleep better at night. Betti’s advice is perfect during this time when all of us are fretting about jobs, apartments and why we can’t be 5’8” tall and weigh 120 pounds.  The show airs Tuesday at 1 p.m. Pacific Time on AchieveRadio.Com.

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

2 responses »

  1. Fabulous blog post Anna. I actually have a copy of “The Secret” but kind of giggled through it. Maybe I need to actually read it and then I will get a fabulous job and be 5’9″ (yeah, I wanna be taller than you!)

    Reply
  2. Please put me in for one of those 5’8″ and 120 lb bodies….for myself, please, if we’re being specific…it’s amazing, the power of the mind and what we’re capable of. Great reminder – thanks for that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

