RSS Feed

Fragments and Shrapnel – Back To School

It’s a good thing we have Facebook. No really. How would we know someone’s stomach hurts, they are eating broccoli for dinner and they like “If I get 1-Million Facebook Fans My Sister Will Name her Kid Megatron.” Occasionally a gem of information will show up on FB and get me thinking. Like when my friend Pam told us about her obsession with office supply stores. Where else can you get pencils for 19-cents?! And cheap paper? And and and…. I think she secretly goes in the office supply chain stores and pretends her daughter is still in school so she can buy these nifty items.

Not that I can blame her. I rarely get out of an office supply store without spending $50. I NEED just one more box of paper clips and those pens are just so CUTE! Maybe it’s just our (adults) way of compensating for not being in school anymore. I miss the yearly rituals of buying pads of paper and pencils and decorating my Trapper Keeper. Oh like you didn’t have one! When I was in college, I hated buying books but I loved buying new notebooks and pens. I miss the anticipation of a new semester and meeting new people and seeing what sort of drama, stress and excitement school will bring.

Since I don’t have kids, I just have to live vicariously through the frazzles moms who stare at their kids’ school supply lists as they search high and low for the perfect #2 pencil (are those even made anymore?) and recycled 8 ½ by 11” paper. Maybe I could rent myself out as a personal school supply shopper. There’s gotta be some money in there somewhere…..

But I digress.

That is why I am dedicating this week’s F&S  to school supplies. The humble#2 pencil, ornate flash drive, and exciting ruler. Things  you just can’t live without.

I went to my favorite kitschy website Neato.Com and found a few things no student (or geek) can live without.

Check out these Freudian Slips Sticky Notes:

Or this Vulcan USB Flash Drive:

Or this Great Women of Science Ruler:

How did we ever survive without them?

If you’re more into kickin’ it old skool, a simple search on E-Bay can land you a Care Bear lunch box, PeeChee folder or the politically correct Big Chief writing tablet. I swear the paper in those writing tablets were made out of dust and water. If you even looked at the paper wrong or thought about erasing a mistake large holes would appear out of nowhere and you’d have to get a new sheet. It’s a conspiracy!

Now that I have given you my school supply suggestions, you can hold your head high and confidently go back to school knowing you have the right stuff.

What are some of YOUR favorite school supplies?

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

