RSS Feed

Shooting Words: Introduction & Existence

Last week I featured Words to Shoot By in Fragments & Shrapnel and spent the rest of the week thinking about words I could use for the project. I thought about opening a dictionary and just picking words at random but that seemed to easy. I thought about using words like ‘commute’ or ‘vehicle’ but those words were too readily available. I wanted something that would make me think. Sure I could find interesting vehicles or commuters but not right away.

So, I spent most of the week checking out my surroundings and the things I see every day on my commute to and from work and thinking about how I could incorporate them into this project. There’s the well-read homeless man who I see every morning sitting on a park bench reading one of the three local newspapers. There’s the Hispanic woman who wears 3-inch heels and jewel-toned slacks and works at the World Trade Center. There’s the husband and wife who walk each other to work in the morning. She wears second-hand skirts over leggins and he wears vintage suits with too-wide ties. An odd pair but obviously very happy. Maybe these are all short stories instead of pictures. I doubt the Vintage Couple stop for a picture.

This weekend I was sitting out in the backyard reading wondering why my tomatoes won’t grow and I thought again about this project. One of the books I was reading (because I read two or three books at a time. Drives my husband crazy) is The Creative License by Danny Gregory. I looked at the back of the book and read the descriptions and a little light bulb (compact fluorescent of course!) went off above my head. I took 10 words from the back of the book and made my list. I realized I was trying a bit too hard to come up with “creative” words to use for my project when I could have just used a book or journal or words from the calendar on my office wall.

Here’s the list:

  1. Three
  2. Letters
  3. Summer
  4. Green
  5. Food
  6. Blankets
  7. Creative
  8. Midlife
  9. Book
  10. View

For this entry, however, I’m going to cheat and use an 11th word and pictures I’ve already taken. I went to a random word generator and got Existence:

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

One response »

  1. Thank you! I appreciate it!

    -Anna

    Reply

Leave a Reply

