RSS Feed

Fragments and Shrapnel – Whaddo you got for me?!

When I first started this blog, I figured it would be a focal point for various and sundry websites and things I found interesting throughout the week.  And it still is, but it has since evolved into a place for gadet and book reviews and variations on themes.

This week I’m kickin’ it “old skool” (how long does something have to continue for it to be old skool?) and going back to my weekly potpourri of websites I’ve been reading when I should be doing other, more productive things, like remodeling the Sistine Chapel or feeding the poor.

Well, the Pope keeps refusing to take my calls and it’s been too hot to stand in a steamy soup kitchen, so I present to you, gentle readers, Anna’s Time Wasting Sites for the week of July 12, 2010:

First and foremost is the newest addition of my collection of podcasts, The Diaries of Sly Crooner. As of this printing, I am subscribed to 14 podcasts. Do I listen to all of them? Yes. Some of them are an hour long and others are 10 to 15 minutes but they all serve a purpose in my life. They keep me entertained and informed but most importantly prevent me from bludgeoning obnoxious cell phone talkers on the train/bus who think I care about what they are doing and why so-and-so never responds to their Tweets/Facebook posts. My mom caught Sly Crooner’s  act on SiriuXM Book Radio and immediately told me about it. Sly Crooner is the alter ego of jazz singer and pianist Geoffrey Leigh Tozer who broadcasts each week from Swanktown where the women are exotic and the men are well behaved at times and money is no object… because we have no money! Each week he tells a story of love, hard luck and loss.  The characters are real and the drinks are strong. The podcasts are well produced and the stories are engrossing.  Sly does throw in a few original songs in each episode which you can take or leave but the stories will keep you coming back for more.

Another website that has made it to my daily RSS feeds is Words To Shoot By.  The project started with four women with cameras who explored, through pictures, what certain words meant to them. The project has since grown to 24 photographers is going strong. My favorites were “Three” “Ripple” and “Morning.” It made me want to start my own Word Project. But my inner list maker reminded me that I’ve already started and not completed MANY projects. This is different. I can do this every day on my commute and when I walk to work or when I get up… the possibilities are endless!! Hmm……Got any ideas for words I should use? Let me know!

Last, but certainly not least, is the photography of Mike Stimpson.  I’m a sucker for anyone who takes everyday items like Leggos or broken computers and turns them into art.  Mike is A photographer with a bizarre toy fascination, and a curiosity towards light. Check out his Flickr page where he re-creates famous photographs and paintings using Leggos. He also gives links to the originals and photographs the process he used for creating the pictures. I’ve always been a sucker for “behind the scenes” looks at movies and photographs. His Storm Trooper calendar is fabulous and I’m already saving up my war bonds to buy it for my husband. Wait – my husband reads my blog.  I’ll buy it for ME! ME!!!

*rubs hands manically*

Tune next week and I’ll have more variations on a theme, images from my own Words to Shoot By project and maybe a book review.  I promise.

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

One response »

  1. like remodeling the Sistine Chapel or feeding the poor.

    Or remodeling the Sistine Chapel WHILE feeding the poor. I have great faith in your ability to multi-task.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

