RSS Feed

Fragments and Shrapnel – For people who do too much

Last week on this here blog I promised I would drive off to the countryside in a red convertible while my red scarf flapped happily in the breeze. I would feed my soul and blog about all my new adventures and what happened when I fell down the rabbit hole.

Obviously, I failed in that mission. Well, I only partially failed.   Ya see, I did feed my soul last week, I just never got around to writing about it. When I wrote my post my week was looking free and clear. I could see from here to Fargo, ND it was so clear. But soon after I got done writing said post, my schedule filled up faster than an empty wine glass in Napa Valley.

I did write last week, in fact, I did a lot of writing, I just didn’t write about it here.  I started a new short story, I wrote the first two chapters of a book and I interviewed a fellow writer and graphic designer.  Did I self sabotage? I don’t know.  I don’t think so.

When I was a kid my mom always told us to get out of the house and go explore. I like going to new cities and seeing where the locals eat and what they do. When I went to NYC in May I packed a lot of walking and exploring into few days.  That’s probably why it took me a week to recover. I was one tired girl when I got home.

Over the weekend I ducked into my favorite metaphysical bookstore and soaked up the incense. I found a card with a quote by Rumi on it that said, Try Something Different. Surrender. It hit a chord with me and made me realize I was trying to do too much.  I get too much on my plate and can’t eat because I don’t know where to start. My excuse is that it’s so hard because there are so many neat people making art and writing great books and just being incredibly creative. I want to be a part of it.  And I can. I just need to know when to surrender and know when to explore.

This week on A Closer Look Health and Lifestyle Edition, Pam interviews author and speaker Tim Shurr about how to stop self-sabotaging yourself and “get out of your own way!”  This show comes at an interesting time for when I’m trying to find the balance between reinvention and meditation. I know I’ll be taking good notes.  Will you?

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

