RSS Feed

Fragments and Shrapnel – Soul Feeding Variety

My dad is living proof that no matter how poorly you eat, good genes can keep you alive. When I was growing up I would remember how startled my dad would get when his skyrocketing cholesterol numbers were returned to him. The doctor underlined and circled the numbers in red ink and probably told him he would be dead in 2 days if he didn’t change his eating habits.

At the time, my dad worked hard and played hard and would forget about good nutrition. One day he was in the grocery store and passed by (yes passed by) a display of oranges. He said his body physically longed for the oranges like something inside of him was trying to get out and grab the oranges. At that moment he realized just how poorly he was eating and bought the oranges. He also changed his eating and exercise habits.

The same thing happened to me the the other day when a friend wrote, “What truly and honestly feeds your soul?” I have been working at a new job for a few months and the learning curve is starting to straighten out. I’ve also been in the process of reinventing myself which means I’ve been working a lot. When I read my friend’s statement, I realized that I had not gone on an artist date or a hike or done something that wasn’t work related in a long time. My soul reacted the same way my dad did when he passed by the oranges. It practically jumped out of my body and demanded an entrance to art museum or trail head.

It got me thinking about how often we ignore out desires and soul-nourishing dreams and replace them with work or chores or mundane tasks. “I’ll get to this weekend” or “I’ll make time next week” is a common mantra in my household and replaced with Internet, TV or that dirty kitchen floor that needs scrubbing.

This week’s Fragments and Shrapnel is a little different than most in that I’m making a declaration and starting A Project.

This next week I’m going to allow my soul to jump out of my body and eat those oranges and enjoy that hike and leave the mundane tasks to next week or the weekend. Summer made a late arrival to the Pacific Northwest this year and I haven’t been able to hike or get out and just enjoy the sun. I’ve been working hard and need to recharge a few batteries and enjoy the summer produce. Each day I plan on doing ONE thing that nourishes my soul. I’ll report back here each day with pictures and whatever else I can find. I primed the pump last Friday when I went to Free Night at the Portland Art Museum and checked out the R. Crumb exhibit. I left feeling invigorated and reconnected again. I’ll let that be my jumping off point.

Until then, what nourishes your soul?

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

