RSS Feed

Fragments and Shrapnel – Curiously Strong

I was never very good at competitive sports. I take that back. I was good for about two weeks when I hit puberty before everyone else and was taller than my friends. I was on the swim team, track, and various other sports my parents made me play to get me out of the house.  But I wasn’t very competitive. I always strived for personal bests instead of beating so-and-so at their game.

I have been thinking about competitiveness a lot this week because I work at an athletic club and sometimes I watch the grown men play basketball during their lunch hours. They are always trying to outdo each other and it never seems like they have any fun. Occasionally an argument or scuffle breaks out and someone has to get the ice.  It got me thinking about an Albert Einstein quote I recently found in which he said, “Any intelligent fool can make things bigger and more complex… It takes a touch of genius – and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction.” There’s so much out there right now that we almost have to dress and sing like the second incarnation of Lady Gaga to get noticed.

So, what does it take to be competitive without having to be outrageous?  For me, it takes confidence and practice. My friend Ken races in iron man triathlon and various other endurance races each summer.  He told me I should race in a triathlon when every voice in my head was yelling “I DON’T THINK SO!” He encouraged me to find my best when I could barely jog a block.  Ken recently started a personal training and events business and is hosting a variety of events in the Portland, Oregon area this summer. He’s also taking on clients for training. Before you skip to the next paragraph, let me tell you, Ken doesn’t care if you can’t jog a block without getting winded. All he wants to do is help you get healthy. Check out his website and sign up for personal training. You won’t be sorry.

On a different vein, another friend of mine has started her own personal muse business to help YOU become more creative.  Do you have the next Great American Novel inside of you?  Do you like to paint or draw but don’t know how to stay motivated? Kim will help you find your inner muse and keep you on track while you write your first novel or paint your first masterpiece.  She will push you towards your personal creative best and maybe inspire others to do the same.

Switching gears a little.. OK.. maybe a lot… I found this website listing the 8 Weirdest Hotels on Earth.  Sometimes you have to be a little weird to stick out from the pack.  I especially like the hotel rooms made out of wine casks and the Propeller Island City Lodge where every room is a masterpiece. Sure it’s a little weird, but it caught my attention – in a good way.

This week on A Closer Look Radio Pam talks to author Jeffrey Fox about what it takes to be a fierce competitor in these trying economic times.  Is it all about self confidence? Is all about sticking out from the crowd? I’m curious to find out because these Lady Gaga heels are killing me!

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

