RSS Feed

Fragments and Shrapnel – Curiously Strong

It’s Fun Things week here in Fragments and Shrapnel!  I have YouTube Videos, a site for number crunchers and tips on all the best ways to get tree sap out of your hair.

Excited? You should be!

How many of you have spent hours searching for and watching useless videos on YouTube? I know you bookmarked those videos of Fred Astaire dancing to Smooth Criminal and search for your favorite 80’s bands videos. I know I have. So, it was with great excitement when I found a link to the 50 Greatest Arts Videos on YouTube collected by The Guardian. The article is a couple years old but who cares? Its hours of time-wasting fun! Who wouldn’t want to watch Billie Holiday sing Strange Fruit or Kurt Russell auditioning for Star Wars? Do you think they missed anything since 2008?

Have you ever found a neat blog, news story, or a video or photo slide show you think everyone should see? If so (or even if you haven’t) check out Neatorama.Com where you can share your unusual web finds. Submit your favorite site or thing and watch the Upcoming Queue page to see if your find is Neat or Not. Visitors can vote on the submission or mark them as spam. I spent way too much time on this site checking out bacon wallets and watching time lapse videos.  The great thing about this site is that it isn’t just one-shot things, there’s some real substance here – like a story about Kentucky Senators having to take an oath office promising not to fight in any duels. I think politics would be much more fun if they did fight duels!

Speaking of politics, we’ve all heard pundits and politicians blow smoke about the latest numbers and research on the hot topic of the week. Most of the time I ignore what they say but sometimes a number or a fact gets under my skin and makes me want to learn more.  If you want to learn more about all the numbers and “facts” being thrown around, check out FactCheck.org. This site tells the real stories behind the numbers and headlines and is great for any political junkie or every day citizen who wants more information.

Last, but certainly not least, is HowToCleanStuff.net. The other day I was out delivering newsletters for my neighborhood association and a pine tree blessed my hair with pine sap. I figured there was an easier way to get the sap out of my hair than spending $40 on a haircut, so I went to HowToCleanStuff.net. I learned mayonnaise or peanut butter works best on tree sap. And they were right! If you’re a klutz like me and constantly spill red wine on your carpet or if you need to clean Aunt Ester’s pearls, this site will tell you how.  The instructions are simple and easy to follow and I promise you will come here often. I do.

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

