RSS Feed

Fragments and Shrapnel – Bargain Bin Edition

Welcome to another week of Fragments and Shrapnel. I have dredged the interwebs to find you the most useful and quirky items to keep you from being productive at work. You can thank me later.

Last week I was doing research on buying second-hand clothing online for an article on Family Academy and came across 2ChicksConsignment.ComMy vintage coat-wearing heart went pitter pat as I browsed the bargains on used and vintage clothing.  I found at least 4 coats and bags I could not live without.  Besides the obvious benefits of the site, there is a useful style guide, size and fit guide and a body style guide to help you make body-appropriate choices.  You can also read the 2 Chicks Blog and get useful recycling links.  This is my new favorite place.

In the summer of 2000, my husband and I went and saw “Weird Al” Yankovic in concert at the Clark County Fair. We avoided the rides and fried dough bits and listened to his opening Oompah Band instead.  We weren’t sure what to expect of the show because we had heard nothing about his concerts. Well, “Weird Al” delivers and puts on a fabulous show. That show, on that hot summer evening, was one of the better live shows I’ve seen. Really.  I’ve been a fan of “Weird Al” for a long time but never noticed this extra video he included on his Poodle Hat CD.  He recently posted it on his Facebook page and I had to share. I appreciate people who can make fun of themselves.

When most celebrities die, we feel sad for a few minutes while reading about it over our breakfast and then continue with our day. If it’s an Uber Celebrity like Michael Jackson we may feel bad for a few hours.  But when actress Natasha Richardson died, Portland resident Jackie Hooper was touched by the news and got to thinking about how people come in and out of our lives and how we wait to say the really important until it’s too late. That’s why she created WouldHaveSaid.com.  It’s a place for people to submit letters expressing everything they wanted to say when a friend, relative, or even celebrity was still alive. Now, I can be very cynical, and I don’t normally go to sites like this; but this one really touched me. All the letters were written from the heart and are honest. I dare you to read a few letters and not cry.

Best YouTube Video Ever.  Celebrated novelist Margaret Atwood and hockey. It’s like chocolate and beer.  The person who came up with this idea is a genius and Brava! to Margaret Atwood for going along with the skit.

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

