RSS Feed

Fragments and Shrapnel – The Rube Goldberg Edition

I have a thing for Rube Goldberg contraptions and when I learned about OK Go’s latest video, I was glued to my computer screen. By now the video has gone viral but in case you haven’t seen it, check it out here:

I don’t particularly care for OK Go’s music but their videos are genius.  The video took months of planning by people who are much smarter than me. If you want to know how they did it Wired Magazine has this behind-the-scenes look.

Speaking of videos, check out what happens when Wes Anderson and Spider Man Collide:

Fragments and Shrapnel would not be complete without a food blog. My latest obsession is Tasting Table.com.  Now, I live nowhere near Chicago, San Francisco, New York, L.A. or D.C. but I appreciate a good food blog.  Tasting Table sends free daily e-mails delivering the best of food and drink culture to adventurous eaters everywhere. Subscribers are sent ideas about everything from dining, wine, cooking to restaurant profiles. They are first-hand recommendations and this is a great resource for anyone traveling to any of these cities.  I subscribed to the newsletter and learned about how to preserve jam and a pastry chef in NYC.  This food-coma inducing site is a must read for Foodies everywhere.

Have you ever seen those tags in bookstores (well, they have ‘em at Powell’s) that say, If you liked Little House on the Prairie then you’ll love The Brothers Karamazov? Well, they don’t say that but you get the idea. If you like that sort of thing, then check out Hunch.Com.  This site gives recommendations on EVERYTHING.  Recipes, finding a date, reading Mark Twain, buying a camera, grooming your cat – it’s all here and gets better and better as more people use the site.  I typed in “nuclear bombs” and got a list of articles on considering a career in nuclear energy, which renewable energy resource should I support and quiz on which apocalypse will I experience.  Each topic gives you a list of questions and narrows your choices down with articles and more quizzes to you on your quest.  For the quiz it asked me if I lived in a city or suburb, what did I fear most and which way I would choose to die horribly? Fun huh?!  I thought it was.  I have Neil Gaiman to thank for this link.

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

