RSS Feed

Fragments and Shrapnel – Bottom of the Barrel

My usual sources for finding good stuff dried up this week so I had to dig deeply to the bottom of my purse to give you these lovely lint-covered gems. My mom always kept mints in her purse and my sister and I didn’t care if they had lint or crumbs on them. They were candy!! So gobble these up like two guilt-free girls from the Midwest and enjoy!

It’s about that time of year (well, for those of us in the Pacific NW) to start thinking about the racing season. I plan on racing in at least one triathlon and maybe a couple of road races this summer. If it weren’t for  Podrunner, I’d never get out of bed. These hour long exercise mixes are good for runners, walkers, or anyone who needs a boost in their workout. I listen to these in the car and when I’m doing the dishes at home. Subscribe for free, buy a t-shirt, or donate towards the cause. You will get hooked!

I am probably the only person on this earth who has not had their luggage lost by the airlines. But if you are, and you never claimed your lost luggage, go to IsThisYourLuggage.com. When luggage is unclaimed after a certain amount of time, the airlines sell the items and donate the money to charity. The site’s creator, Luna Laboo, must have lost her luggage too many times because she buys lost luggage from the airlines, photographs the contents and puts them online for people to identify. So if you lost your Brazilian futbol jersey or plaid boxer shorts, this is the place to go!

EcolutionNW is a Green building and lifestyle store headquartered in downtown Vancouver, WA. I met one of the owners, Heidi Olsen, when I was handing out flyers for a workshop and got to chatting with her about the store’s products. They sell eco friendly flooring, counter tops, building materials and all sorts of goodies. If I ever have money again, this is the first place I will stop for my home improvement projects. Stop in and check it out or just read their blog to see what you can do with old wine vats.

I found Look At This by accident when I hit the Stumble button on my task bar. I stayed here too long watching videos, reading about the history of the sunflower and searching through another site that covers “the worlds best nightlife.” It’s addicting.

From the Shamless Self Promotion Department: Are you a freelance writer, independent contractor or small business owner? If you want to learn how you can get more clients in your business without breaking the bank, you must attend Smart Marketing for the Small Business Owner workshop. The first workshop will take place Saturday February 27th from 11 to 2 PM in downtown Vancouver. It’s only $49 for this personalized workshop and your money is guaranteed. Click on BeBrilliantMarketing.com for more information and to register.

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

