RSS Feed

Fragments and Shrapnel – Favorite and Favourite

This week in Fragments and Shrapnel its quality verses quantity.   I have a short list this week but everything on it is as addictive as tamari flavored almonds.

I am a connoisseur of internet radio.  I devour stations like I devour buttercream filled cupcakes.  Lately I’ve been craving classical music in the morning to take the edge off my crabbiness and ease my fuzzy brain into the day.  One of the stations I’ve been listening to a lot lately is ClassicAndJazz.net. This all-French station plays a lovely blend of classical and jazz standards.  One minute Julie Andrews is knocking your socks off with Le Jazz Hot and the next Puccini keeps those socks off with arias from Tosca. This station never fails to deliver and is highly addictive. I have no idea what the announcers are saying an nor do I care. I love listening to them purr and tell me I’m listening to “classic and jazz point net”.

Do you ever wonder if it’s worth it to power down your computer when you’re not using it?  How ‘bout if the new Apple iPad is really the next best thing? If you do, and I know you do, check out EarthTechling.com.  This site has reviews of the latest gadgets, green news, features on green gifts to give your sweetheart and more.  There’s even an Energy Star primer to help you make informed buying decisions on your next appliance.

Leo Babauta the creator of many websites including ZenHabits.net.  He’s a writer, blogger and father of six kids.  In 2005 he “took control” of his life and began running and living a healthier life.  Leo posts articles on everything from how to run to how not to hurry and how to avoid panic attacks.  His article on 50 Tips for Frugal living actually make sense.  Normally I avoid articles like these because they have one or two good ideas and the rest is fluff, but in this case who doesn’t need to walk more and seek out free entertainment and sell your clutter?  His articles are a breath of fresh air in the land of blow-hards preaching their latest diet and exercise fad. There’s no preaching here and no telling you you aren’t good enough. There’s just simple Zen-like advice and I like it. He has many websites and you will, as I did, find yourself subscribing to all of the RSS Feeds.   Check out his writing blog: WritetoDone.com

Sometimes good art, like a fine wine or cheese is worth the wait. Artist Christopher Niemann’s blog via the NY Times, Abstract City Blog, is worth checking out ever two months when he posts new material. I found this website by accident when I pressed the Stumble button on my stumbleupon toolbar. When I found it he had posted a variety of different leaves from trees like the “Ernie and Bert Tree” and the “Leaves that look like cars Tree”. He’s incredibly creative and talented and you will get addicted. My favorite so far was his journey into the land of coffee via napkins and coffee cup rings.

About Anna Alexander

I am a freelance writer and producer living in the Pacific Northwest. My husband and I live with our cat Grendel who lets us pay his mortgage.

Leave a Reply

